The Museum de El Carmen Mummies is a former monastery school and chapel. Its construction lasted between 1615 and 1628. The building used to be a monastery school, but today, it stands as a full Colonial religious piece of art.
In the crypt of the former monastery, there are 12 mummified bodies. These bodies are thought to belong to some former parishioners. Without a doubt, the bodies had been abandoned in the crypt.
The Mummies
So after the building was abandoned for good, due to poor conditions, the bodies started dehydrating, so they were naturally mummified. The discovery of these bodies was made by members of the Liberation Army of the South.
They succeeded in doing this discovery by looking for monastic treasures, so it was a pure coincidence that they found the bodies.




